REVIEW: Acupuncture

2

Review on:  Acupuncture

My first experience with natural remedies was in connection with my lower back spine column. Some people call it a freak accident.  This is how it happened.

It was in 1983, while I was based in Jakarta, Indonesia.  (I was then 48). After taking a shower, I was drying myself up with a towel. I lifted up my right foot so I can reach it to wipe it dry and then . . . from out of no where  – oouuucccch!

The pain was in my spinal column – lower back.  My legs buckled and I fell slowly to the floor of the shower!  I kept still on the shower floor not moving a stitch because of the pain. The slightest movement produced excruciating pain in my lower back spinal column.  So I kept still on the shower floor quietly praying that the pain will go away.  After a minute or so, I was able to straighten my legs, very, very  slowly, inch by inch.

It took me several minutes just to straighten my legs.  Then I tried to sit up.  Very slowly because the pain was still there. Then I grabbed on the edge of the tub and started pulling up myself.

The best thing I could do was to take aspirin.  The following day, I flew to Singapore where we go when we have any medical issues or emergencies. Thank God, nothing was broken.  The doctor prescribed “Valdoren”.  So,  for the next two years, every time I felt some slight pain in my spinal column I would take the pain killer, Valdoren.

Introduction to Acupuncture

One of my jobs as Technical Advisor for an American company assigned to Indonesia was to visit the five branches of our local distributor.

At the time I was visiting  a branch in Sumatra (1985),  the Branch Manager,  Rashdi,
who had the same lower back problem was scheduled to visit a Chinese Acupuncturist.

It was God sent. I went with Rashdi on his visit to the Acupuncturist.  I observed the whole procedure and was convinced that the Chinese Acupuncturist was a genuine practitioner and knew what he was doing – and he used new needle!

So I went on with my own treatment.  It took all but 30 minutes.  The Acupuncturitst stuck a few needles on both sides of my lower back spinal column, the lower legs, and one at the top of my head. And then he connected this needles to a small storage battery.

The electric current from the battery produced a very gentle massage where ever the needle was located – on my lower back, my legs and the top of my head.  This went on for about 30 minutes.

Since then the pain never came back until after 13 years, in 1998.  At this time, I was then living in Houston, Texas.

Acupuncturist in Houston, Texas

The same thing happened.  I was wiping my feet after showering and something in my  lower back appeared to have snapped and the pain was as excruciating as the first time in Indonesia. I fell to the floor of the shower like the first time.

This time however I knew what to do. Get to an Acupuncturist.  The big question
was, ‘Is there an Acupuncturist in Houston, Texas?  I started praying.

As soon as I was able to get out of the shower and into my home-office room, I grabbed hold of the Phone Book and turned quickly to the yellow pages.  Turned quickly to “A” and in no time saw “Acupuncturists”.   Lo and behold the first listed was “AAA”
Acupuncturist.  It was 11 am, Saturday. I immediately dialed the number and a lady with a Chinese accent answered.  I thought, thank God, this is a genuine, Chinese speaking, china trained acupuncturist. Click on the website and then click on ‘Provider’   – www.aaahealthcenter.com

Dr. Cathy Liu  answered the phone and said she was about to go home, being Saturday,  her office closes at 12 noon. I asked her politely but firmly,  “Mom” I said, “please wait for me, I am ‘dying’ with this spinal column pain.”  I believe she knew the pain I was in, so she waited.

This time, it took two sessions.  The doctor said because I was older than the first
time when I was in Indonesia.

Since then, I have spread the word about acupuncture as an effective non-invasive, non-surgery procedure.  I have not used the pain killer, perscription drug since 1985 or 26 years ago.

Consult with an Acupuncturist.  Evaluate and try it.  It is non-invasive and has been practiced in China for hundreds and hundreds of years.

Leave a comment